Be out of Texas before sundown

16 Sep

Hopefully anyway.  It is very slow going but I have only 14 rows to go on the second set of charts.  I have finished

  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • South Carolina
  • Alabama (its bigger than  you think)
  • Mississippi (skinnier than it ought to be)
  • Louisiana
  • Alaska

I’m 4 rows from the end of Texas and the same from starting Nevada.

But oh, it’s a boring knit.  Once you have mastered the yarn twirl on a colour change and there is a lot of practice it is just a slog along the chart, knit one way purl the other.  Endlessly.  I just hope this tedium in the making of it does not spoil my enjoyment of the  finished blanket.

Progress pictures.

I was thinking I didn’t like the colours but upon reflection and as the blanket grows I think I do.

And for those of you desperate to know how the back is looking here it is:

I have been keeping it all in a box and trying to knit out of it to minimise the unraveling of the wool but these balls have a life of their own and and whether I use the outside or inside thread soon end up a twisted heap rather than a neat ball.  So I’ve put them in socks to keep them more compact at least.  I was working with 12 balls of wool in 6 colours so needed some order.  Socks are the way to go until I can get hold of some of the plastic bottle covers off licenses give you when buying good wine.  I’m drinking swill these days and in the shops I frequent you are lucky to be offered a bag to carry it home in (or to the park) never mind a plastic cover.

Chart update.

2 Responses to “Be out of Texas before sundown”

  1. Elvira September 18, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    Way to go Betty-Sue!

  2. Gill September 30, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    don’t forget to water the horses. Love the blanket and the pink toe nails!

Leave a Reply

